

## Professor Katarzyna Chałasińska-Macukow

## President of the Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland, Rector of the University of Warsaw

Professor Katarzyna Chałasińska – Macukow has been the Rector of the University of Warsaw (UW) since 2005. Before her appointment as the Rector she was Vice-Rector for Finance and Personnel (2002 – 2005) and Dean of of the Faculty of Physics (1996 – 2002). In 2008 she was elected President of the Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland (CRASP).

Professor Chałasińska – Macukow earned her Ph.D. in Physics (optics) at the Faculty of Physics in 1979 and a habilitation in the same field in 1988. She was made professor in Physics at the UW in 1997 and a full professor in 2002. Her scientific experience focuses on the optical and digital processing of information: the recognition and processing of images, computing optics, Fourier optics and holography.

In years 1982-1983 professor Chałasińska – Macukow was Assistant Professor at the Laboratoire de Récherches en Optique et Laser, Dept. de Physique, Université Laval, in Canada. She made several stays as a senior scientist at the Laboratoire de Physique Génerale et Optique, Université de Franche-Comté in France (1991-1995) and as a invited professor at the Department of Physics, Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB), in Spain (1991-2003). In 2009 professor Chałasińska – Macukow was awarded an honorary doctorate for her research in the field of information processing and for her valuable collaborations by the UAB.

Professor Chałasińska – Macukow is a board member of International Society for Optical Engineering, a member of Institute of Physics (UK) and a member of Optical Society of America. She has held many important positions such as Vice President of the International Commission for Optics (1993-1999), chair of ICO Prize Committee (1996-1999) and Vice President of Polish Physical Society (2001 – 2005). She was also a member of Board of Directors (1992-1996) and a member of Advisory Committee (1992-2003) in European Optical Society.